ARC MONOGRAPHS

OPIUM CONSUMPTION VOLUME 126

This publication represents the views and expert opinions of an IARC Working Group on the Identification of Carcinogenic Hazards to Humans, which met remotely, 11–20 September 2020

LYON, FRANCE - 2021

IARC MONOGRAPHS ON THE IDENTIFICATION OF CARCINOGENIC HAZARDS TO HUMANS

International Agency for Research on Cancer



LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Members ¹

Deirdre Cronin-Fenton (Subgroup Co-Chair, Exposure Characterization)

Aarhus University Aarhus Denmark

Nazir Ahmad Dar

University of Kashmir Hazratbal Srinagar India

Arash Etemadi

Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics National Cancer Institute Rockville, MD USA Paola Fortini

Istituto Supariore di Santa Rome Italy

Deborah Glass

Monash University Clayton Australia

Jennifer Jinot [retired] (Subgroup Chair, Cancer in Experimental Animals and Mechanistic Evidence)

United States Environmental Protection Agency Arlington, VA USA

¹ Working Group Members and Invited Specialists serve in their individual capacities as scientists and not as representatives of their government or any organization with which they are affiliated. Affiliations are provided for identification purposes only. Invited Specialists do not serve as Meeting Chair or Subgroup Chair, draft text that pertains to the description or interpretation of cancer data, or participate in the evaluations. Each participant was asked to disclose pertinent research, employment, and financial interests. Current financial interests and research and employment interests during the past 4 years or anticipated in the future are identified here. Minor pertinent interests are not listed and include stock valued at no more than US\$ 1000 overall, grants that provide no more than 5% of the research budget of the expert's organization and that do not support the expert's research or position, and consulting or speaking on matters not before a court or government agency that does not exceed 2% of total professional time or compensation. All grants that support the expert's research or position and all consulting or speaking on behalf of an interested party on matters before a court or government agency are listed as significant pertinent interests.

Farin Kamangar (Subgroup Chair, Cancer in Humans)

Morgan State University Baltimore, MD USA

Narges Khanjani

Kerman University of Medical Sciences Medical University Campus Kerman Islamic Republic of Iran

Ruri Kikura-Hanajiri

National Institute of Health Sciences Kawasaki City, Kanagawa Japan

Nuria Malats

Spanish National Cancer Research Center (CNIO) Madrid Spain

Reza Malekzadeh (Subgroup Co-Chair, Exposure Characterization)

Digestive Diseases Research Institute Tehran University of Medical Sciences Shariati Hospital Tehran Islamic Republic of Iran

Akram Pourshams

Digestive Diseases Research Institute Tehran University of Medical Sciences Shariati Hospital Tehran Islamic Republic of Iran

Afarin Rahimi-Movaghar

Iranian National Center for Addiction Studies Tehran University of Medical Sciences Tehran Islamic Republic of Iran

David Richardson

University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, NC USA

Vikash Sewram

African Cancer Institute Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences Parow, Cape Town South Africa

Saman Warnakulasuriya (Meeting Chair)

King's College London London England

Invited Specialists

None

Representatives

None

Observers

None

IARC Secretariat

Lamia Benbrahim-Tallaa (Rapporteur, *Mechanistic Evidence*) Ian Cree Jennifer Girschik (Responsible Officer until 31 March 2020) Yann Grosse (Rapporteur, Cancer in *Experimental Animals*) Kathryn Guyton (Rapporteur, Mechanistic *Evidence*) Bayan Hosseini Tamás Landesz Adalberto Miranda-Filho Mengmeng Li Heidi Mattock (Editor) Mary Schubauer-Berigan (Acting Head of Programme; Responsible Officer from 1 April 2020) Mahdi Sheikh Eero Suonio (Rapporteur, Exposure *Characterization*) Michelle Turner (Rapporteur, Cancer in Humans)

Administrative Assistance

Séverine Coutelier-Sarboni Marieke Dusenberg Sandrine Egraz Michel Javin Jennifer Nicholson

Production Team

Fiona Gould Niree Kraushaar Solène Quennehen

Pre-Meeting Scientific Assistance

Fatiha El-Ghissassi Lin Fritschi Misty Hein Natalie Olson

Post-Meeting Assistance

Claire Beveridge (Technical Editor)